

Hogan appoints Sixth District commission

Tamela Baker

December 20, 2018

Gov. Larry Hogan announced appointments Thursday to an emergency commission on gerrymandering in Maryland's Sixth Congressional District.

Hogan formed the commission in response to a federal court ruling in the case of Benisek v. Lamone in November that requires the state to redraw the district boundaries. The commission will be charged with developing new boundaries in an open and transparent manner to address all constitutional violations.

The lawsuit alleges that the current boundaries, drawn during former Gov. Martin O'Malley's administration, were skewed to give Democrats an advantage in a congressional district long held by Republican Roscoe Bartlett. Democrat John Delaney was subsequently elected to the Sixth District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Washington County Republican Central Committee Chairman Jerry DeWolf, a plaintiff in the suit, said he believes the commission is a "step in the right direction. I believe Gov. Hogan is on the right side of history on the issue."

It's now up to Democrats in the Maryland General Assembly to follow through in adopting measures to prevent further gerrymandering.

Appointees include:

- Maury S. Epner, a Republican attorney from Montgomery County
- Deborah Lundahl, a Republican accounting manager from Frederick County
- Christopher Howard, a Democrat and software engineer from Anne Arundel County
- Luis T. Gutierrez Jr., a Democrat and medical products consultant from Montgomery County
- Matthew Douglas, a policy analyst and unaffiliated voter from Montgomery County
- Kathleen Jo Parson Tabor, an unaffiliated voter and attorney from Howard County

Last month, Hogan named Judge Alexander Williams, a registered Democrat, and Walter Olson, a registered Republican, as co-chairs, and named Ashley Oleson, an unaffiliated voter, to serve on the commission.

The additional commission members were chosen after Williams, Olson and Oleson screened more than 300 applicants and submitted recommendations to the governor.