

Only 5 countries voted against the U.N. resolution condemning Russia

Grayson Quay

March 2, 2022

Russia, Belarus, Eritrea, North Korea, and Syria. China and Pakistan were 2 of the 35 countries that abstained.

According to <u>*The New York Times*</u>, the U.N. General Assembly adopted a resolution condemning Russian aggression, with 141 countries voting in favor, 34 abstaining, and only five voting against.

The result matched the international outpouring of support for Ukraine seen around the world in the past week. Pro-Ukraine <u>demonstrations</u> sprang up in London, Madrid, Milan, Paris, <u>Tokyo</u>, Seoul, <u>Cape Town</u>, and several other cities. During President Biden's State of the Union address on Tuesday, many lawmakers waved small Ukrainian <u>flags</u> or wore Ukrainian flag <u>pins</u>.

The no votes on the resolution came from five authoritarian nations: Russia, North Korea, Eritrea, Syria, and Russia's close ally Belarus.

The Cato Institute's 2020 <u>Human Freedom Index</u> ranks Russia as the 115th freest country on earth. Belarus barely cracks the top 100 at 99th. Syria appears on the list as the 10th *least* free country in the world. North Korea and Eritrea, both one-party dictatorships, are not ranked at all.

Among the nations that abstained from the vote were Iraq, Iran, India, Pakistan, and China. In early February, China and Russia released a joint <u>statement</u> that, among other things, condemned NATO expansion but did not directly mention Ukraine.